Rigathi Gachagua Votes In Mathira

  • Gachagua cast his vote at the Sagana Primary School some minutes to 8 am.
  • There was a hitch in validating his credentials in the IEBC KIEMS kit and he ended up using the manual voter register.

Kenya Kwanza Alliance presidential running mate Rigathi Gachagua has voted in Mathira Constituency, Nyeri County.

Mr. Gachagua cast his vote Tuesday at the Sagana Primary School some minutes to 8 am. This was shortly after a hitch in validating his credentials in the IEBC KIEMS kit. 

The Mathira MP ended up using the manual voter register to authenticate his data before proceeding to the voting booth.

Speaking after the exercise, Mr. Gachagua lauded Kenyans for taking the exercise seriously and turning up in high numbers to vote.

“I’m very excited about the high voter turnout. As early as 3 am, Kenyans had already queued to vote for their leaders. We are impressed,” he said.

“IEBC is very prepared and in the cases where a voter cannot be identified biometrically they are handling it seamlessly. I’m certain that the will of the people will prevail by this evening.”

Earlier in the morning, at around 6:15 am, his partner and presidential candidate in the Kenya Kwanza Alliance, Deputy President William Ruto, cast his ballot at Kosachei Primary School in Sugoi, Uasin Gishu County.

DP Ruto called for peace from Kenyans, saying: “The process of choosing the next leader of Kenya is underway. I want to ask all voters to do this exercise, vote peacefully and intentionally. I am confident the people of Kenya will make the right choice.”

Polling stations opened at 6am across the country.

The nation’s 22,120,458 registered voters will go to the polls this year to elect 290 Members of the National Assembly, 1,450 Members of County Assembly, 47 senators, governors and woman representatives, as well as President Uhuru Kenyatta’s successor.

The presidential race has attracted four contenders: George Wajackoyah of the Roots Party, David Mwaure of the Agano Party, Dr. Ruto of Kenya Kwanza, and Mr. Odinga

The election has drawn 63 political parties, with at least 11,330 candidates running for various seats.

The grand political contest has also drawn 3752 independent candidates vying for various seats across the country.

According to IEBC election data, 261 women are running for County MP seats across the counties, while 1,473 people are running for Member of Parliament seats.

Other candidates include 9,142 people who are running for county assembly seats, while 183 and 263 people are running for governor and senator, respectively.

Check out this >>> Content Writers job.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: